National Dairy Shrine

Michigan Ag News Headlines
Nominate Next Michigan Dairy Farmer of the Year
Michigan Ag Connection - 06/29/2020

Tim Hood, the 2020 Dairy Farmer of the Year acknowledged that "It is not so much the award as it is the knowledge that someone has noticed what we've been doing." Throughout his more than 40 years of dairy farming, Tim Hood of Paw Paw has worked hard not just to produce quality milk and a successful business, but to promote dairy in his community and to further the interests of the industry. That got noticed.

The Dairy Farmer of the Year Award is given annually by the Michigan State University Department of Animal Science. It is the highest honor bestowed by the department to Michigan dairy farmers and is awarded to a farmer, farm partners or family that has distinguished themselves by excellence in dairy farming and outstanding involvement in the industry and/or their community.

The list of past recipients reads like an honor roll of those who gave of themselves on the farm and off the farm as they labored extra for the good of others and for all dairy farmers. Most, like Tim, would say "It wasn't much, but it was what we could do", but the reality is that after the work of cow care and crop production was done for the day, they went above and beyond to promote the industry they love and help ensure its success.

The MSU Department of Animal Science invites nominations for the 2021 Dairy Farmer of the Year Award. Information about the award, list of past recipients and the nomination form can be accessed at:, or found by searching MSU Dairy Farmer of the Year. Even if not all information requested on the form is available, nominations are welcome.

Anyone can take the time to consider who is a good candidate for the award and begin the nomination process. As Tim said, "It is an honor even to be considered for the award". The selected farmer will be announced prior to the 2021 Great Lakes Regional Dairy Conference and honored at the Michigan Dairy Industry Banquet as a part of the conference. A portrait of the honoree will be added to the display wall at the MSU Livestock Pavilion and notice of the award will be provided to the local newspaper of the recipient and to their legislators.

Nominations are due to Miriam Weber Nielsen,, chair of the selection committee, by September 15.

Other Michigan Headlines
LaForage Systems
E-Z Trail Farm Wagons
Copyright © 2020 - All Rights Reserved.